h1

A Spurs week

November 2, 2008

What a week to be a Spurs fan. I awoke last Saturday to see that Spurs had sacked Ramos, Comolli and all the backroom staff and that Harry Redknapp was our new boss. Normally when a manager is sacked, there’s a period of a few weeks before the new boss is installed, but this was different. We went into the Bolton match with Clive Allen officially picking the team, but with ‘Arry on the sidelines screaming and looking like a melted waxwork of a bulldog.

We won 2-0. And looked like an actual team.

Still, I didn’t expect us to get anything from the midweek game at Arsenal. I could have watch the game in a pub, but had a prior engagement at The Boogaloo film quiz with some mates, and they don’t have a telly there. Nonetheless, I kept up to date with the game on my mobile. I cackled when Bentley scored, but suspected that we’d still lose. I remember the same match last season when we took the lead through a Bale free kick but then lost 3-1. So I wasn’t too surpised when we did end up 3-1, but was heartened when we pulled a goal back. Then, in typical Spurs fashion, we conceded, and I accepted defeat. And then, in three mad minutes we scored two goals. When I saw the final score was 4-4, I leapt onto the floor and did a little impromptu running-man dance, much to the delight/disgust of my team-mates on the quiz. I dashed outside to phone my mum to tell her to watch Match of the Day.

For the Liverpool game I was in Cambridge on a weekend break with my girlfriend. We didn’t want to spent the evening glued to the telly, so we compromised and watched the first half in a pub. I found myself sitting in front of a couple of Arsenal fans who spent the first 30 minutes saying: “I fucking hate Tottenham,” every two minutes. They crowed like fishwives when Liverpool scored. I bit my tongue and resisted to temptation to point out that Arsenal had just lost to Stoke. But we were happy enough – we chatted to some lovely Irish people and then went off to dinner. There was no reception on my mobile so I assumed that Spurs had lost. We were playing badly and Liverpool were creating hatfuls of chances. A home loss to Liverpool wasn’t the end of the world.

We got back to the B&B, wet and tired and I managed to get a signal on my mobile. We had won 2-1. I did my little dance and postponed any romance so I could watch Match of the Day. My God, we were lucky. Liverpool may as well have gift-wrapped the game and handed it to us with a little card saying: “With our sympathy in these difficult times…”

Everything at Spurs has happened so quickly that I haven’t had a chance to think about what this means for the club. In fact, the whole season has taken on a slightly dreamlike quality. I keep on expecting to wake up to find that Jol is still in charge. As for Ramos, the speed at which he has been consigned to the dustbin of football history is incredible. His reign seems like a distant memory despite the fact that just over a week ago he was in charge. Even as a Spurs fan, used to turmoil and upheaval, I’m amazed at how rapidly everything’s happened. I feel a little sorry for Ramos – he was a decent man, but found himself out of his depth. Had things been handled differently with Berbatov and Keane, he might have made a better start to the season and clung on. But he never looked properly equipped for a relegation struggle.

As for the rest of the season, we’re still in a relegation battle, and right now I’d settle for securing our Premiership status and forgetting about cups. Things may change, but right now our priority is the Premier League.

One comment

  1. As a grieving Liverpool fan I can only say congrats, I must say I’m gutted but extremely proud of my team’s selflessness in just handing over those three points as though you’d asked Jim to fix it for you and we duly obliged. I guess all of Steven Gerrard’s accolades pale in comparison to his Jim’ll Fix It medal now.



Leave a Reply

